About STDU


Shijiazhuang Tiedao University (STDU), the successor of Chinese People's Liberation Army Railway Engineering Institute, was established in 1950. The university is located in Shijiazhuang city, the capital of Hebei province, and is one hour from Beijing by high-speed train. STDU is a technical university specializing in applied engineering and offers a wide range of disciplines covering science, management, economics, arts and social sciences. It has been listed as one of the national key universities since 1979 and is rated as one of the top universities in Hebei.


The university has been enrolling students from across China who are qualified for first-batch enrollment based on their performance in the College Entrance Examination. Currently, it has 28,000 full-time students, including 2,700 postgraduates and more than 230 international students.


STDU has 1,800 teaching staff, including 230 professors and 450 associate professors, 533 doctoral and master supervisors, two members of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, and more than 180 scholars. In addition, the university partakes in a number of academic programs, notably the Cheung Kong Scholar Program, Program “973” chief scientists, State Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars, State Outstanding Professional and Technical Personnel Winners, and Nationally Known Teacher and Candidates of New Century Talents Program.


There are 19 institutional departments and 25 research centers in STDU. It is currently offering over 50 undergraduate majors, two Level-1 disciplines in doctoral programs, two post-doctoral research centers, 14 Level-1 disciplines in master programs, and five professional master degree programs including Master of Engineering (10 authorized fields), Master of Business Administration, Master of Law, Master of Landscape Architecture, and Master of Finance.


STDU possesses high level laboratories, including one National Key Laboratory Breeding Base co-constructed by Hebei Province and Ministry, four Ministerial and Provincial Key Laboratories, one Provincial Engineering Technology Research Center, one Soft Science Research Base in Hebei Province, one Hebei Province Philosophy and Social Sciences Research Base, four key laboratories and engineering technology research centers by state-owned enterprises and the university. In addition, its library holds 2.3 million printed books and 32 electronic databases.